On Monday afternoon, September 24 Monticello Raceway will present the seventh leg of its Heritage Drivers Series. Dubbed ‘the Mayflower Mile’ all participating drivers can trace their heritage—either on the dad’s or mom’s side—back to jolly old England, or at least to a country in the United Kingdom.


However, after the Mayflower Mile there will still be one other leg in the Heritage Drivers Series  to be presented. Slated for October is the Maple Leaf Pace for drivers of Canadian descent..


The winners of these contests will join the winners of each of the previous Heritage Drivers Series preliminary legs in a finale which will be called ‘the All-America Cup’ to be raced during November.


Those drivers who already have earned a berth in the All-America Cup  via their triumphs in a previous series leg include: Bobby Williams, Jr. (Dr. Martin Luther King Pace); Lisa Krom (Lady Godiva Pace); Jimmy Taggart, Jr. ( St. Paddy Pace);  Alan Charles (Passover Pace); Mike Merton (Munich Mile) and Mike Forte (Godfather Pace).


The drivers who will participate in the Mayflower Mile  are all seasoned veterans  and Director of Racing Eric Warner is expecting a great competition.


“Many of our leading drivers can trace their roots back to the UK, and perhaps drivers whom you may never think of as being part British,” Warner said.


Warner was undoubtedly referring to both Bruce Aldrich, Jr. and  Kyle DiBenedetto, whose mothers were of English extraction.


However, headlining the drivers in the Mayflower Mile is Billy “Zeke” Parker, Jr. who has in his illustrious career thus far reined 10,785 winners which ranks him seventh all-time in races won in North America.


Others who have some English blood in the veins and who will be joining Parker, Aldrich and DiBenedetto in the Mayflower Mile include Greg Merton, Gary Messenger, Chuck Poynton, Gerry Fielding and Gareth Dowse, who, by the way,  has  become part of the American fabric since he emigrated here from Wales a few years ago.


Post time for the Monday, September 24th  race card will be at the usual 12:50pm.