It took longer than anticipated to present the eight legs of the Mighty M’s Heritage Drivers Series-2012 but on Monday afternoon October 22, when the Maple Leaf Mile goes to post, the field of drivers for the series finale will be complete.
Originally to be called the Maple Leaf Pace that moniker had to be dropped when trotters became the featured participants.
“We wouldn’t call it the Maple Leaf Trot since that prestigious event belongs to Canada’s Woodbine Entertainment Group so our race this year, for drivers of Canadian heritage, will simply be called Maple Leaf Mile ,” explained Eric Warner, the tracks director of racing. “Although we tried we just couldn’t get together a field of pacers for this event.”
Headlining the drivers in the Maple Leaf is Stephan Bouchard, who won this race twice. On Monday he’ll handle 6-1 rated Dynamic Preacher, a non –winner since September 12th when the trotter scored a 2:02 victory. They’ll start from the pole position.
However the early line favorite, Jobo Da’Shabra, will have veteran John Gilmour at the lines when the trotter starts from post eight. The 11-year-old Carry The Message gelding comes into this race off two wins in his last three starts, the fastest, a gait to wire triumph in 2:02 on September 27.
Second choice, Consulate, belongs to Jimmy Doherty, Jr. A 2:01.3 winner earlier this season they’ll leave from the six-hole.
Former Mighty M driving champ Jimmy Devaux has drawn Gatekeeper, rated at 6-1 on the early line. But they deserve some serious consideration when they start from the four-hole since the trotter had been handled by amateur drivers in most of his previous races.
Other with mounts in the Maple Leaf Mile include Mike Doherty (Jimmy’s brother) Jacques Primeau, Keith Haase and Terry Finch.
The winner of the Maple Leaf will join the drivers who won each of the ethnic legs and they’ll battle in what will be billed as the All-America Cup and be presented in late November.
Already with berths in the series finale are: Bobby Williams, Jr. (Dr. Martin Luther King Pace); Lisa Krom (Lady Godiva Pace); Jimmy Taggart, Jr. ( St. Paddy Pace); Alan Charles (Passover Pace); Mike Merton (Munich Mile) and Mike Forte (Godfather Pace) and Zeke Parker (Mayflower Mile