The Mayflower Mile will be the fifth leg of Monticello Raceway’s year-long Heritage Drivers Series and will go to post on Thursday afternoon, August 29th. The event will feature the driving talents of drivers of English extraction, which includes any country part of the United Kingdom.            

The annual series, which showcases drivers of eight different ethnicities, will culminate with the winning drivers of each preliminary leg competing in a finale—the All America Cup-- later this fall.

Featured in the Mayflower Mile is the meets leading driver Bruce Aldrich, Jr. He has drawn Badlands And Art and they’ll start from the four- hole. A five- time winner this season, the fastest in a time of 1:56.4 the pacer has been rated 7-2 on the morning line.

The morning line favorite, however, is Where U At (9-5) and will have Chuck Poynton in the bike when they leave from post two. In from Saratoga where the pacer was competing in $10,000 claiming races he was individually timed in 1:56.4 when he finished fourth in his first Mighty M outing last week. Poynton won the inaugural event with in 2005 with I’m In in a 2:00.1 clocking.

Another former Mayflower Mile winning driver, Greg Merton (2010), who is  also a  past  Monticello Raceway driving leader, has drawn David’s Road (8-1), a considerable outsider.  The pacer will be looking for his second seasonal triumph when they start from the seven-hole.

Kyle DiBenedetto, whose mom was born in England, has drawn Mor Winning Ways. Consistently pacing around 1:59 the veteran gelding  was a 2:00.3 winner earlier this year. They’ll leave from post three.

The field has also drawn an amateur driver in Peter Gerry. He’ll handle Beal Hanover from the coveted pole position. A non-winner thus far this season Beal Hanover  won four races last year, the fastest  in 1:56 right here at Monticello.

Other drivers rounding out the field for the Mayflower Mile are Rick Harp, Pat Beeler, and Mike Merton.

The winning driver of this contest will join the winners of the other preliminary legs in the series finale. Those who have already earned a berth in the All America  Cup include; Dennis Watson ( Dr. Martin Luther King Jr. Pace), Jimmy Marohn, Jr. (St Paddy Pace); Bobby Krivelin ( Passover Pace) and Veronica Merton (The Lady Godiva).

Defending champ and  two-time Mayflower Mile winner, Billy “Zeke” Parker, Jr. was unavailable for this year’s competition.

Post time for the 11 race card will be at 12:50pm. The Mayflower Mile is the fifth race on the program.